RESOLUTION

Subject: Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure (KBML) Officers and Panel Chairs Restricted to

Physician KBML Members

Submitted by: Lexington Medical Society

Referred to: Reference Committee

WHEREAS, the Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure (KBML) is legislatively mandated to be comprised of 9 physician members and 2 consumer non-physician members appointed to the KBML by the Governor in addition to voting ex-officio members to include the deans of the 3 medical schools in Kentucky and the Kentucky Commissioner of Public Health; and

WHEREAS, the KBML currently includes 3 officers, president, vice president, and secretary/treasurer and 2 panel chairs, panels A and B, who are elected to their position by the KBML from the 11 appointed members by the Governor; and

WHEREAS, the officers and panel chairs frequently have to make immediate decisions about Kentucky physician licensees between KBML meetings that require medical knowledge, training, and judgement; and

WHEREAS, in 2019-20 a consumer KBML non-physician member was elected vice president and panel A chair; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that while the KMA fully supports and appreciates the contribution of the community members of the KBML, the KMA executive staff and Board of Trustees advocate that KBML officers and panel chairs be limited to Governor appointed KBML physician members only; and be it further

RESOLVED, that KMA leadership communicate this concern and position to the KBML staff and current President.