Close this search box.


Glasgow Physician R. Brent Wright, M.D., MMM, Installed as KMA President


Sept. 24, 2019
CONTACT: Emily Schott
KMA Director of Communications

Glasgow Physician R. Brent Wright, M.D., MMM, Installed as KMA President
2019 Annual Meeting Also Honors Award Recipients, Program Graduates

LOUISVILLE, KY—R. Brent Wright, M.D., MMM, a Glasgow family medicine physician, was installed as the 169th President of the Kentucky Medical Association (KMA) on Sept. 21 during the organization’s Annual Meeting in Louisville.

KMA members also elected four other officers during the 2019 Annual Meeting. Robert Couch, M.D., of Louisville, was elected president-elect, Dale E. Toney, M.D., of Lexington was elected vice president, Danesh Mazloomdoost, M.D. of Lexington was elected Speaker, and Monalisa Tailor, M.D. was elected Vice Speaker.

A lifelong Kentuckian, Dr. Wright was in the first residency class at the University of Louisville/Glasgow Family Medicine Residency where he helped shape the development of the program while serving two years as Chief Resident.  After numerous practice opportunities, he became Residency Director and received awards from the American Medical Association and the 2010 KMA Educational Achievement Award. Prior to being selected as President-Elect, Dr. Wright served as the 6th District Trustee and as Chair of the KMA Board of Trustees from 2013-2015. He has also held executive positions with many of the state’s most active stakeholder groups, including the Kentucky Academy of Family Physicians, the Kentucky Rural Health Association, and the Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky. He currently serves as Associate Dean for Rural Health Innovation at the University of Louisville School of Medicine, where he collaborates with numerous parties both in and outside the university.

During his inauguration speech at the KMA Leadership Dinner, Dr. Wright said, “I am excited to work with other groups, other individuals, policy makers and our patients to make Kentucky a healthier and more attractive place to practice medicine.  And I am especially excited to work with KMA members.  Because, during my year as President, you are not just members – you are champions.  Champions for your patients and Kentucky as a whole.  And we have the stories of success to prove it.”

The association also presented its annual awards during the meeting.

Patrick Withrow, M.D., of Paducah, received the KMA Community Service Award, students and leadership of Johnson County Middle School received the Debra K. Best Outstanding Layperson Award, and Keri Remmel, M.D., PhD, of Louisville received the KMA Educational Achievement Award. Two individuals will be presented with the KMA Advocacy Award. Ben Chandler, President and CEO of the Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky was presented with the Award during the meeting, and Sen. Max Wise of Campbellsville will be presented with the Award at a later date. Gordon Tobin, II, M.D., of Louisville received the KMA Distinguished Service Award, the Association’s highest professional honor.

Eleven physicians were also recognized for completing KMA’s award-winning Kentucky Physicians Leadership Institute (KPLI). Participants completed a year-long series of learning events that aims to cultivate physician leaders across the state. Members of the 2019 class are Mark Brockman, M.D. of Louisville, Lee Dossett, M.D. of Lexington, Lara Fakunle, M.D. of Louisville, Franklin Fannin, M.D. of Louisville, Michael Fletcher, M.D. of Crestview Hills, Heidi Koenig, M.D. of Louisville, Rishi Kumar, M.D. of Louisville, Charles Papp, M.D. of Lexington, Khalil Rahman, M.D. of Lexington, Mark Schroer, M.D. of Newport and Brian Sosnin, D.O. of Louisville.

KMA also recognized three physicians who completed the KMA Community Connector Leadership Program (CCLP), which prepares and supports physicians in leadership roles and offers grants to nonprofit organizations. This year’s recipients were Sarah Moyer, M.D. of Louisville, Bruce Scott, M.D. of Louisville and Khalil Rahman, M.D. of Lexington.

KMA also honored 68 students who completed the organization’s Medical Student Outreach and Leadership Program (MSOL). Inspired by the format and success of the Community Connector Leadership Program, it was designed to engage students early in organized medicine and create future physician leaders through educational sessions and community involvement. A listing of students and their respective medical schools is provided.


About KMA

The Kentucky Medical Association is a non-profit 501(c)(6) organization that supports physician members and their patients with a variety of services. The KMA, established in 1851, represents and supports nearly 7,000 physicians, physician residents, and medical students across the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Learn more about the KMA and its programs at

Post Archives